Revisions and Novel Planning

Untitled

Sometimes I feel revisions and planning come hand-in-hand, especially when you know what you’ve already written, and have an idea as to what you want to write in the future, if you haven’t written it already.

Lucky for me, I have about 150,000 to currently work with, at my disposal, and counting.

I finished my first draft of Two Thousand Years four days before the November 2014 NaNoWriMo cutoff.  I ended at 53,171 words, which was the most I had ever written, at that time in my life.  Currently, I’m working on revising the second draft with over 60,000 words- I’m in the midst of Chapter Seven, and all is currently up on Wattpad if anyone wants to look them over (the shameless plugs will never end).  I expect three to four to five more drafts before I even consider making it more of a serious endeavor.

The second novel in my series, Mark of the Empress, took me a little bit longer to complete. During NaNoWriMo 2015 I finished the month at 52,083 words, but the first draft of the novel itself was not completed until January 30, 2016 with 70,483 words.  That’s a draft I’m not even going to touch until I get a few other things finalized.

Which brings us to my two novellas.

During the 2015 Camp seasons of NaNoWriMo I attempted to write two novellas- Reylor’s Lament in April, and then Treyan’s Promise in July.   My goal for both was 25,000 words, with character-centric plots that gave some background into each character’s purpose and goals as alluded to in Two Thousand Years, eventually laying the groundwork for Mark of the Empress.

Needless to say, neither of these novellas have been completed.

Reylor’s Lament is currently at a whopping 15,032 words.

Treyan’s Promise is sitting pretty at 9,274 words.

You would think these stories would be easier to write, seeing as I have the beginnings and ends, but filling in the blanks is a lot harder than it seems.

Continuity is the devil.

And that brings me back to what I mentioned at the beginning of this post.  When novel planning, you’re thinking about the revisions you need to make to the work you’ve already done, and when novel planning, you’re thinking about the novel you plan to write that you may not have started yet.

It’s a vicious cycle.

So what’s the problem, MB? You have your first two novels outlined and the first drafts are done. Get a move on already!

Well, continuity, my friend.

When writing Mark of the Empress, there were certain items I felt needed to be revised in Two Thousand Years, so I wrote it as though I had already made those changes.  Now, I need to go back into Two Thousand Years and change those items, all the while trying to remember what it was I wanted to change in the first place.  Add on top of that the now evolving background stories of my male protagonist and main antagonist.   These novellas are going to develop further than initially planned when I started them because now I pretty much know the endgame, not just the intermediary story.

I mean, I’m still working on them.  I’ll write a page here, a couple hundred words there.  One for Treyan, another for Reylor, depending on how my mood lies.  And they were works in progress.

This progress is just moving very, very slowly.

So again, NaNoWriMo will have its camps this April and July.  My goal for April it to work on my novellas, and before July I hope to have my ideas figured out enough to begin on the next character-developing novella before the third book, Beginning’s End, is attempted in November.

Good thing I have this blog here to help get my stories straight!

Such plans. Much revisions.

Posted on February 23, 2016, in Random and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

